Season Over

Six straight NCAA Tourney’s, two SEC championships, two Sweet Sixteen’s, an Elite Eight appearance, the #1 National ranking, players graduating, fan support and the relationships and friendships with the players, staff members and supporters are the things that I’ve been thinking about to help me through the last 24 hours. I beam with pride when thinking about these things and the positive difference I hope I have made on this program and our players.

However, during times of adversity, you can’t just trick yourself into thinking everything is ok by making yourself feel good about things that have happened in the past. People that do, may feel better about themselves in the short term, but won’t be better off in the long run. Yesterday was brutal. This year has been tough. But like I say all the time, in every situation there are things you learn to do and things not to do. Needless to say, I have learned a lot this year and become a better person, coach and mentor to our player’s because of it. I strongly believe our program will do the same. Just like we did after losing to Oklahoma State in the first round of the NCAA tournament two seasons ago, our staff and players will work vigorously to improve so that we can go on another special run in the NCAA tournament next season. Every ending, like this season, is the start to something new and I’m excited for these new challenges and opportunities.

I personally (well, as personal as you can be through a blog) want to thank all of our fans for their support this season. Throughout my 5 years here, your passion has always been remarkable. However, Vol Nation, your unwavering support, loyalty and enthusiasm throughout this tough season truly showed me why you are the best fan base in the country. My basketball family and I truly thank you!

GO VOLS!!

About Mark Pancratz's Blog

A native of Schaumburg, Ill., Mark Pancratz played Division I basketball at UW-Milwaukee, earning his degree in marketing and finance. He joined Tennessee's staff in 2006 as a graduate assistant, earning his master's degree in sports management later that year. Serving as a G.A., director of video scouting and assistant to the head coach, Pancratz was an integral part of Tennessee's six-consecutive NCAA tournament appearances. At 26, Pancratz boasts an impressive 18 games of NCAA Tournament experience as a player and/or administrative staff member. He is a member of the Illinois High School Basketball Hall of Fame and voted one of the 100 Legends of Illinois High School Basketball. Pancratz resides in Knoxville and is married to the former Brooke Waddell.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Season Over

  1. Keith Young says:

    THANK YOU. This coaching staff and team have made it great to watch Tn bball again. There are no words to express how much we thank you guys for giving your all for Tennessee. Again Thank you so much and I love following your blog. In closing all I can say is BRUCEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEE

  2. Mike Mazanek says:

    And I want to THANK YOU for your blog as well. It is the first time I remember having a “real-time” authoritative contact and I valued highly your insights and remarks – good and bad – on my Vols of the past 50 years. Success in all you do, and to Coach Pearl and the rest of the BP staff – Peace!

    Mike (UTK ’66) in NC

  3. Mike says:

    Mark,
    I appreciate your time and efforts.

    Good luck.

Leave a Reply

